The existence of sin

Reading: Thomas Middleton, A Trick To Catch The Old One.

A character (The Courtesan) says something interesting towards the end of the play:

She that knows sin, knows best how to hate sin. (5.2 132)

Why might God tolerate the possibility of us sinning? If he is all-powerful why doesn’t he just obliterate “sin” from the universe? Well that’s difficult if I try to think too philosophically (i.e. taking “sin” as whatever is Godless, and then being absolute about its existence or non-existence). But I think there is truth to the Courtesan’s words. When we have sinned we get an inkling of how detestable it is. I better hate the sins I have committed and which stand glaring in my past, because I know them.

As God hates sin, we become more similar to God when we learn to hate sin. I’d like to think of it as God’s little joke on Satan.

Leave a Reply

