Waiting – a metaphor

Waiting on the Lord is: like crossing the road – with your father.

Stop, look, listen, and wait,
but when the way is clear and when your father moves,
walk in step, holding on to his hand.

Metaphors!
The world is like a box of hints God gave us to learn about his nature.

Verses on waiting in the Bible:

Psalm 27:14

 14 Wait for the LORD; 

       be strong and take heart 

       and wait for the LORD.

Psalm 38:15 

 15 I wait for you, O LORD; 

       you will answer, O Lord my God.

Psalm 119:166

 166 I wait for your salvation, O LORD, 

       and I follow your commands.

Psalm 130:5-6

 5 I wait for the LORD, my soul waits, 

       and in his word I put my hope.

6 My soul waits for the Lord 

       more than watchmen wait for the morning, 

       more than watchmen wait for the morning.

Micah 7:7

 7 But as for me, I watch in hope for the LORD, 

       I wait for God my Savior; 

       my God will hear me.

1 Corinthians 1:7

7Therefore you do not lack any spiritual gift as you eagerly wait for our Lord Jesus Christ to be revealed.

James 5:7

7Be patient, then, brothers, until the Lord’s coming. See how the farmer waits for the land to yield its valuable crop and how patient he is for the autumn and spring rains.

Jude 1:21

21Keep yourselves in God’s love as you wait for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ to bring you to eternal life.

The waiting is active.

>> Wait: being strong, taking heart, listening for God’s answer, following his commands, putting hope in his word, watching more watchfully than watchmen for the morning, waiting eagerly, ready to act and harvest, keeping in God’s love.

(“And this is love:  that we walk in obedience to his commands. As you have heard from the beginning, his command is that you walk in love.” 2 John 1:6)

Then I suppose you’d have to figure out what obedience to God’s commands means.

Leave a Reply

