The phenomenon known as ‘teenage rebellion’

I told myself I’d never be a teenager. Meaning: I’d never rebel against authority and do my own thing. It’s so cliché. Looking back, I most definitely was a ‘teenager’. Maybe I didn’t do drugs, but I was glued to the electronic screen (TV, computer) enough to grieve my parents, and for them to be at least slightly concerned about how I would turn out. I wonder if there is anyone who can look back and truly say they weren’t a ‘teenager’.

In the same way, I wonder if there is anyone that can say they were or are or will not be a ‘teenager’ with God. “I no longer want you to tell me what to do!” It’s that spirit of rebellion – everyone is a rebel somehow; that’s the non-rebellious paradox of the matter.

I guess I should write my essay instead of these notes. They kind of help the thought process though. (kind of)

Leave a Reply

