Take one off from big cities

City girl or farm boy?

This most recent return to Hong Kong, my ‘hometown’, has surfaced one more reason why I dislike being here, if it weren’t for being with family. A busy bustling city like this has so so many things going on all at once that you must ignore some things. People handing out flyers for slimming treatments or mostly worthless coupons to buy things you don’t need and don’t want, five lung busting conversations around you over the growl of traffic that skims right by your arm, sweat streaming down your back, smokers puffing in your face, the smell of pastries from the bakery, water drops from air conditioning units splashing on your head, patches of phlegm or gum on the pavement to avoid stepping on, 50 pedestrians brushing past you in a minute, music blaring from a store… everything vying for your attention. Not all deserving your attention.

Pretty soon, I start just not caring. I can’t concentrate on any one thing so I start shutting off: turning inward or allowing the noisy fast distractions of the city to numb my mind. How lonely one can feel in a big city!

This city is like a smog that obstructs my vision of God’s light, a clenching that keeps me from feeling the love of Christ, and a din that drowns out the whispers of the Holy Spirit.

And then I realise that They don’t hinge on what I think I perceive or feel or hear – I can know with certainty that God is who he is, Christ has done what he’s done, and the Spirit is with me forever. I already have what I need.

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.” “Now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. He anointed us, set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come.” “But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all truth. He will not speak on his own; he will speak only what he hears, and he will tell you what is yet to come. He will bring glory to me by taking from what is mine and making it known to you.” (Hebrews 11:1, 2 Corinthians 1:21-22, John 16:13-14)

[And that’s the end of romantic poetic expressions for now. Will write something more solid next time.]

Leave a Reply

